Efflorescence

http://bookmust.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/doorning-thoughts/

I used this post on Ste J’s blog as an inspiration to write this poem. This is one of the many doors I unlocked with my imagination. Thank you for helping me discover new worlds, Ste!

A sweet veil of redolence embraces me

And I remember it is his,

I feel the salty fragrance of roses and sea

And my skin’s so pleasurable frizz.

It’s strange… his scent slowly forms an arc,

A door appears, cobwebs covering the wood,

Layered with dust and sumptuously dark,

A dulcet perfume floats, strong and so good.

This ancient portal ephemerally fades away

And in front of my eyes a new world appears,

An efflorescent garden,

Full of roses, lilies, daisies,

A garden on an island, in the middle of the sea.

The soft fragrance of salt and flowers

Coalescing, becoming one,

Creates his haunting sempiternal scent,

Opulent and ineffable.

I dream about you, about your aroma,

I see your chatoyant blue eyes,

They are the cynosure of my heart

 They are the super nova of my soul.

All this efflorescence is beautiful, but evanescent,

This world is halcyon and murmurous,

His eyes, his scent, his smile,

A ghostly pastiche haunting this ethereal world.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Efflorescence

  1. I am glad I inspired you, new worlds are always the best…they can be shiny or archaic, or a mixture of both. I will admit to looking up some words I hadn’t come across before…so a double bonus in this post. love the poem!

    1. I wanted it to be a special poem precisely because it was such a new world, so I thought “why not use some unusual words”. I also wanted this poem to stand out from the crowd, I wanted our fellow bloggers to see how much your post inspired me and let their imagination bloom by reading your post themselves, just like I did. Thank you for your kind words! I’m glad you like my poem!

Leave a comment